Addresses

I’ve been collecting addresses as much as I can. I write them in my address book and started using postable… if I don’t have your address please add it!

https://www.postable.com/melissavandahm

Today I’m writing to the sounds of a thunderstorm, lightning flickering through my window and rain pouring everywhere. Storms look eerie when the lights in the house are off.

I wanted to write today to someone new so I looked at my postable account for a new address.  I wrote to Jenni, my sophomore year roommate.

We have a series of pictures we took while it was storming, sitting on the couch pushed up against the window to watch the lightning. It was one of those unplanned beautiful moments that turn into something memorable and wonderful.

I am lucky to have a life where I don’t always feel well. I think that forces me to appreciate those moments even more because I never know when I won’t be able to enjoy them. Through college my health got worse and worse and ended up at a critical point my senior year, but even before that I was in and out of the hospital and went home often to rest and skipped class after class to just sleep on the couch. I’m glad that I had that perspective. I’m glad I’m able to look back on my experience and remember specific moments that stand out in time that I can savor.

To Jenni.

Leave a comment